". . . actions speak much louder than words in politics. And your track record on key small-business issues speaks volumes about your commitment to help Arizona's most dynamic economic sector continue to lead the way toward greater growth and prosperity for even more Arizonans."

- National Federation of Independent Business, 2000 Endorsement letter to Barbara Leff

Sarah Palin and Barbara Leff

Sarah Palin and Barbara Leff

Constituent and Public Service Awards

Senator Barbara Leff has been recognized by many local, state and national organizations for dedicated service to her constituents and the State of Arizona. She is considered a leader on business and economic development issues, health care and is known throughout Arizona for providing excellent service to her constituents.

Arizona Federation of Taxpayers
"Friend of the Taxpayer" Award in 2008, 2005 and 2004
2007 "Ally of the Taxpayer"

Arizona Society of Certified Public Accountants
2003 Legislator of the Year

Greater Phoenix Economic Council (GPEC)
2009 "Outstanding Regional Contribution"  for vision in passing SB 1403, an initiative that will lead to the creation of quality jobs in Arizona

Friend of the Family Award
From the Arizona Family Project in 2006, 2005, 2004 and 2003 for "demonstrating through your voting record and personal action, a strong commitment to strengthening Arizona's families and promoting pro-family values and ideals."

Arizona Technology Council
2010 "Senator of the Year"
"Senator of the Year"
2008 "Legislator of the Year"
2007 "Outstanding Tech Senator of the Year"
2006 "Tech Ten" award winner
2005 "Legislator of the Year"
2004 "Legislator of the Year"
2003 "Tech Ten" award winner
2002 "Tech Ten" award winner
2001 "Tech Ten" award winner in recognition for support in building the Technology Community in Arizona

March of  Dimes, Arizona Chapter
2009 "Career Achievement for extraordinary efforts on behalf of Arizona's babies"
2007 "recognizing Senator Barbara Leff for tireless efforts to increase access of prenatal care for women." 

Arizona Medical Association
2006 "Walk the Talk" Award

American Cancer Society
2008 "Legislator of the Year" in recognition of Leff's leadership, dedication and commitment to eliminating cancer as a major health problem through legislative initiatives.
2005 "Arizona Legislator of the Year" in recognition of Leff's leadership, dedication and commitment in passing SB 1297 skin cancer prevention instruction in schools.

Arizona Hospital and Healthcare Association 
2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005 and 2004 "Legislative Appreciation Award"

Arizona Psychological Association 
2004 Senator of the Year
2005 and 2003 "Certificate of Appreciation" for valuable contributions to healthcare in Arizona

National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) - Phoenix Metro Chapter
2005 Recipient of the first-ever "Legislative
Advocate Award"

National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)
2002 and 2000 Guardian of Small Business Award for working to protect and preserve the future of free enterprise and small business

Arizona Chamber of Commerce
2002 State Representative of the Year
1998 Champion of Business Award

Arizona Multihousing Association
2006 Legislator of the Year
2001 Friend of the Industry Award

Arizona Retailers Association
2004 Legislator of the Year

National Association of Home Builders
2002 State Official of the Year Award

Building Owners and Managers Association of Greater Phoenix
2002 Award

Manufactured Housing Communities of Arizona 
2002 Appreciation Award

Parenting Arizona
2009 "Champion For Children" award

Home Builders Association of Central Arizona
Housing Hero 2008 Legislative Session Award

Arizona Auto Glass Association
2004 Award

Arizona Capitol Times
2008 "Leader of the Year in Public Policy - Arts and Humanities"


Arizona Medical Association & Arizona Department of Health Services
2000 Public Health Service Award in recognition of leadership and guidance in managed care reform

Mental Health Awareness Coalition
2006 Award for Senator Leff's efforts and dedication to the "Visions of Change" within the Mental Health Community

Arizona Association of Chiropractic
2001 Legislator of the Year

Professional Fire Fighters of Arizona
2001 Burton Barr Award for Legislative Excellence

International Foundation for Anticancer Drug Discovery
1999 Public Service Award in recognition of exemplary leadership on the Anticancer Drug Discovery Legislation

Arizona Federation of Business & Professional Women
2000 Shero Award for commitment on behalf of all Arizonans for Quality Health Care

Arizona Association of the Deaf
1999-2000 Legislators Award

Arizona Disability Advocacy Coalition
2006 ADA Liberty Pioneer Award for SB 1442

Arizona Self Insurers Association
2009 "Senator of the Year" in recognition of outstanding efforts on workers
compensation legislation

Arizona Citizens Action for the Arts
2008 "Arts Hero"
2006 "Legislative All Star MVP" award for "support of a vibrant arts and cultural environment on behalf of all the people of Arizona."
National Republican Legislator Association
2000 "Legislator of the Year" for leadership on critical issues

League Arizona of Cities and Towns
2009 "Friend of Cities and Towns"
2008 "Legislative Champion Award," the highest distinction bestowed on a legislator
2007 "Friend of Cities and Towns" in recognition of service and dedication to Arizona cities and towns
2002 Award of Distinction

Arizona Small Business Association
2007 "Eye of the Eagle Award"
2006 "Eagle for Enterprise Award"
2004 "Eagle for Enterprise Award" given to leaders in legislation soaring for small business success

Arizona Association of Industries
2007 Legislator of the Year
2002 and 2001 Friend of Arizona Industry

Arizona State University
2007 Champion of Arizona State University
2006 Champion of Arizona State University

Arizona Physical Therapy Association
2006 "Charlie Stevens Legislator of the Year" Award 

Arizona Pharmacy Alliance
2005 Service to Pharmacy Award in honor of a continuing and consistent commitment to the advancement of pharmacy in Arizona

Arizona Association of Realtors
2000 Legislator of the Year

Cactus/Sweetwater Neighborhood Association
Honored for assisting the community to secure noise reduction walls along the State Route 51

Greater Tucson Strategic Partnership for Economic Development (GTSPED)
For excellent leadership and vision in support of the economic growth of Greater Tucson

Arizona Film and Media Coalition
2007 Award "In appreciation for continued support and championing the causes of
the film, television and media industry in Arizona"

AAA Arizona
For sponsorship of the 2007 Teenage Driver Safety Act "in honor of your commitment and dedication"